Some Important Common Abbreviations | Shortforms that You must Know

OrgbleEducation Published on: January 18, 2018 398 Views
AIR – All India Radio, state owned radio stations
AP – Andhra Pradesh
ASLV – Augmented Satellite Launch Vehicle
BCCI – Board of Cricket Control in India
BG – Broad Gauge (trains or tracks (5ft. 6in. – the broadest in the world)
BJP – Bharatiya Janata Party, national political party, rightwing, pro-Hindu
BSP – Bahujan Samaj Party, political party, promotes lower caste interests
CBI – Central Bureau of Investigation (like American FBI)
CBSE – Central Board of Secondary Education
AAI – Airport Authority of India
ABCDEFGHIJ – American Born Confused Desi Emigrated From Gujarat, House In Jersey
AGP – Asom Gana Parishad, regional party in Assam
AI – Air India, a PSU
AIADMK – All-India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, a regional political party based in the southern state of Tamil Nadu; created by a split of the DMK
CII – Confederation fo Indian Industry
CM – Chief Minister (like American Governor
CPI – Communist Party of India (historically aligned to Russian party)
CPI (M) – Communist Party of India (Marxist), historically aligned to Chinese party
CPI (ML) – Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)
CPWD – Central Public Works Department; PWD of the GOI
DA – Dearness Allowance, paid to compensate for inflation
DD – Doordarshan, state-owned television channel
DMK – Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, the original regional political party in the state of Tamil Nadu; later a split in the party, created the AIADMK
DoT – Department of Telecommunications
DRDO – Defence Research and Development Organisation FC – Forward Caste
FM – Finance Minister
GoI – Government of India
GSLV – Geostationary Launch Vehicle
HC – High Court (the highest provincial court, but lower than the federal Supreme Court)
HP – Himachal Pradesh
IAF – Indian Air Force
IGNOU – Indira Gandhi National Open University
IIM – Indian Institute of Management
IIT – Indian Institute of Technology

IMD – India Meteorological Department
IN – Two letter official abbreviation for India used by ISO, also used as suffix for India domains on worldwide web such as or
IND – Three letter official abbreviation for India, used by ISO; often used on automobiles transported internationally
INSAT – Indian National Satellite
IPKF – Indian Peace Keeping Force, postioned in a foreign country such as Sri Lanka
IRS – Indian Remote Sensing Satellite
ISI – Formerly Indian Standards Institute, renamed Bureau of Indian Standards,
ISRO – Indian Space Research Organisation
LoC – Line of Control (between Pakistan-Occupied Kashmir and Indian-controlled state of Jammu & Kashmir, formerly called the Cease-Fire Line
LS – Lok Sabha (lower house of Parliament)
LTTE – Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam
m-cap – (stock) market capitalisation
MDMK – Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
MEA – Ministry of External Affairs
MG – Meter Gauge (trains or tracks), being phased out
MP – Madhya Pradesh
NDA – National Democratic Alliance
NIC : National Informatics Centre
NRI – Non-Resident Indian
NSC – National Savings Certificate
OBC – Other Backward Classes
ONGC – Oil and Natural Gas Commission
PAN – Permanent Account Number (like US Taxpayer Identification Number)

PF – Provident Fund (vaguely similar to US Social Security, payable as a lump-sum)
PIGS – Poor Indian Graduate Student
PIL – Public Interest Litigation (brought before a High Court, by a friend of the court)
PMK – Pattali Munnetra Kazhagam
PQWL – Pooled Quota Wait List, Indian Railways Acronym
PSLV – Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle
PSU – Public Sector Unit (a company whose stock is owned largely by the government)
PTI – Press Trust of India, a news agency
PWD – Public Works Department (state civil engineering group handling roads, bridges)
RAC – Reservation Against Cancellation, Indian Railways Acronym
RAW – Research & Analysis Wing (similar to US CIA)
REGRET/WL1 – No More Booking Permitted, Indian Railways Acronym
RLWL- Remote Location Wait List, Indian Railways Acronym
RNRI : Returned Non Resident Indian, An NRI who has moved to his home country
RS – Rajya Sabha, upper house of Indian Parliament

RSS – Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh
SAARC – South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (seven countries of South Asia)
SAIL – Steel Authority of India, a public sector undertaking (PSU)
SC – Supreme Court, the highest court in the country (higher than High Courts)
SC/ST – Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes (Harijans or Dalits)
SEBI – Securities Exchange Board of India
Sensex – Sensitive Index (of the Bombay Stock Exchange), like Dow Jones average
SP – Samajwadi Party; Samata Party
ST – Scheduled Tribes
TN – Tamil Nadu
ULFA – United Liberation Front of Asom
UP – Uttar Pradesh
VHP – Vishwa Hindu Parishad, a fundamentalist Hindu party, right of BJP
WB – West Bengal